Music in the Morning

May 31, 2009 at 12:01 am 3 comments

Hard to believe I’ve only been here a week – it seems much longer.  Haven’t had a full night’s sleep since I arrived – must still be the jet-lag.  Could also be the melodious 4:00 am chanting from the mosque which is right around the corner from my guesthouse.  It’s a great combo though, chanting and bird song. 

It’s not so bad – the chanting is not really in your face.  The worst chanting I ever heard was in Sringar, Kashmir two years ago.  I was staying on a houseboat and across the river there were two mosques and the singers seemed to be competing with each other.  Moreover, instead of one singer they had three at one time.  Now that was an earful every morning. Let it be known that chanters are not necessarily chosen for the harmonious melody of their voices.  Three at one time was rich.

Hope your day is full of music and laughter.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s started… Proof in the Pudding

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gaby  |  June 3, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    hi, liked the update, when you have time, take some photos, how is the food???? take care, L

    Reply
    • 2. JJ  |  June 3, 2009 at 11:24 pm

      Food is spicy – green chilis are in almost every dish. Very similar to Indian food. Fruit is fantastic – wonderful mango, watermelons and I’ve seen red berries but not sure what they are.

      Reply
  • 3. Grace Koffi  |  June 4, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    Tell me more about the chanters….Do you smell in the early morning the smell of the earth? thesun? the dew? tell me more be my eyes…see it all …tell me all…I have never visited that part of the world bu I was in Cambodia so I am just curious…tell me more

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Your Feedback

Peter Diekmeyer on Sudan Pics!
JJ on Sudan Pics!
Jennifer on Sudan Pics!
Jennifer D. on It’s the day before refe…
Gaby on Heading to Sudan
Bruce Rosove on Heading to Sudan
François on Two Days Left…
Nathalie VB on Two Days Left…
Bethany Miller on Don’t worry
Loreen on Don’t worry

